SOC Sunday / Heirlooms

10 Jul

It’s SOC Sunday again! What follows is five minutes of unedited, uninterrupted writing, hosted by all.things.fadraIf you want more info on the details of SOC Sundays, or want to take part yourself, hit the button at the end of the post:

Tiny One just started grabbing objects. The rattle she is holding in the picture was her fathers when he was a baby. THere is something so amazing about that to me: they both learned to grab and hold on to objects using the same rattle. They both looked at it, wondering abou tthe noises it made, and I am sure they both tried tasting it. I just caught one of them trying to fit the whole thing in their mouth last week actually.

My husband probably would have succeeded too if I hadn’t interrupted him.
Ha! Kidding. I kid.

WE have a plethora of items handed down from previous generations from my husband’s side of the family, and I love that our daughter has these things to connect with. She doesn’t know the history yet, but someday she will. And for me, the heirlooms mean so much. I come from a family that doesn’t have much use for heirlooms (there aren’t even any baby pictures of me) and knowledge of my ancestry is pretty non-existent, so the wealth of connection handed down to our girl from her dad’s side is awesome. I am so thankful that she will have these connections to the family that came before her.

#SOCsunday

14 Responses to “SOC Sunday / Heirlooms”

  1. Crystal 10 July 2011 at 10:22 AM #

    That is so awesome!

    My mom has some pictures of me when I was a baby, but no real hand-me-down’s of mine where there to pass on to my daughter, so I understand how you feel.

    You baby is just adorable!

    • Tanya 10 July 2011 at 3:21 PM #

      Crystal – not having a lot from my childhood just makes me that much more in awe of the stash that my mother in law saved for my husband! I plan on doing the same for her. And thanks! I think she’s adorable too 🙂

  2. Good Girl Gone Green 10 July 2011 at 10:38 AM #

    Love the picture! My daughter too is grabbing everything she can get her hands on! It is so sweet that the toy is handed down and they can connect in that way! Happy Sunday to you! Enjoy!

    • Tanya 10 July 2011 at 3:19 PM #

      How old is your daughter?

  3. alishayarbrough 10 July 2011 at 10:58 AM #

    that is fantastic! tiny one is flippin’ adorbs, btw. tradition is just infinitely interesting to me. happy sunday!

    • Tanya 10 July 2011 at 3:23 PM #

      Thanks! History and tradition are really interesting to me too.

  4. Milk Bubbles 10 July 2011 at 11:33 AM #

    I love heirlooms for the little guys too! We have a couple from my husband’s side of the family, but the big one is a pair of little white leather baby shoes that my uncle, mom, and aunt all wore, then all of their children wore and now my children have worn. When my cousin and brother eventually have kids I’ll pass them sideways, but I hope that whoever gets them last will pass them back to my boys when they have kids of their own. Crazy, but those shoes are over 57 years old and still look and feel new, they don’t make things like they used to!

    • Tanya 10 July 2011 at 3:23 PM #

      Fifty seven years old?! Wow…they really don’t make ’em like they used to, huh?

  5. Tracie 10 July 2011 at 4:16 PM #

    I love that she gets to play with her dad’s rattle.

    My mother-in-law saved several things from my husband’s childhood, but my mom didn’t save very many (actually most of it was lost in an across country move, so that really isn’t her fault). I have held onto a lot of things from when my daughter was a baby.

    That is a great picture! She looks so enthralled by that rattle.

  6. Monika Melsha 10 July 2011 at 4:26 PM #

    Loved this post. I’m a first time #SOCsunday visitor. I saved quite a few toys for my Munchkin & the ones he loves most are my Tonka trucks. I wrote a post about it not too long ago. Hopefully he will take good care of them so they will be around for his own kids to play with. I’m also a 1st time Stream of Consciousness blogger & thank you so much for stopping over to visit today!

    • mommyhoodnextright 10 July 2011 at 7:53 PM #

      I love this post. My husband actually came to this country as a refugee so unfortunately, he had to leave so much of the contents of his childhood behind. He’s okay with it, but I kind of feel bad for him. On my side, my mom was pretty good in holding on to things, mainly books, that I’ve now passed on to my daughter, which is really cool.

  7. Diva (in Demand) 10 July 2011 at 8:13 PM #

    What an adorable baby!!!!!

  8. rosesdaughter 11 July 2011 at 4:53 PM #

    Great picture! My mother gave me an old old water toy, a fish that makes a little jiggling noise. It was my water toy 34 years ago, and my brother’s 25. My husband thinks its weird, but I love it!

    Visiting from SOC

  9. minecraft server host 15 January 2014 at 8:59 AM #

    I drop a leave a response when I like a article on a website
    or I have something to valuable to contribute to the conversation.

    It’s triggered by the passion communicated in the post I looked at.
    And on this post SOC Sunday / Heirlooms | The Read Queen.

    I was actually moved enough to leave a leave a responsea response 😛 I do have some questions for
    you if it’s okay. Could it be only me or does it give the impression like some of the comments
    look as if they are written by brain dead folks?

    😛 And, if you are posting on additional online sites,
    I would like to follow you. Could you make a list every one of all your shared sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

